Rachel Croft Honored

Rachel Croft Honored as Finalist for 2022 Nevada Teacher of the Year
Posted on 09/23/2021
Left to Right: Joanna Kaiser, LeAnn Morris, Nicolas Jacques, Cheryl Macy, Rachel Croft and Cheryl Richetta.

Bordewich Bray Elementary School fourth grade Teacher Rachel Croft was honored Monday, Sept. 20, as one of the five statewide finalists for the Nevada Teacher of the Year, recognized by the Nevada Department of Education.

Ms. Croft was surprised during the school’s afternoon faculty meeting where KellyLynn Charles, education programs professional in the office of Educator Development Licensure and Family Engagement with the Nevada Department of Education, made the announcement via Zoom.

Ms. Croft was among four other finalists for the award including Deanne Moyle-Hicks of Natchez Elementary School in Washoe County School District, Jennifer Hurt of Desert Rose High School in Clark County School District, Lissa Kellogg of Yerington Elementary School in Lyon County School District and Jeanine Roser of West Career and Technical Academy in Clark County School District. Ultimately, Deanne Moyle-Hicks was named the 2022 Nevada Teacher of the Year.

The mission of the Nevada Teacher of the Year program is to celebrate excellence and strengthen the teaching force by honoring and recognizing exceptional teachers on a school, district, state and national level. The Nevada Teacher of the Year is chosen from nominated individuals who are then invited to apply. After a rigorous application and interview process, the five finalists were sent to Jhone Ebert, superintendent of public instruction, to make the final selection.

The program is facilitated nationally by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). Along with its sponsors, CCSSO brings together State Teachers of the Year from all 50 states, U.S. territories, Washington, DC, and the Department of Defense Education Activity.