Adrienne Wiggins

Adrienne Wiggins Honored as Finalist for 2023 Nevada Teacher of the Year
Posted on 10/11/2022
This is the image for the news article titled Adrienne Wiggins Honored as Finalist for 2023 Nevada Teacher of the Year

The Carson City School District is pleased to announce Empire Elementary School’s STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) Teacher Adrienne Wiggins was honored Tuesday, Oct. 11, 2022, as one of the five statewide finalists for the Nevada Teacher of the Year, recognized by the Nevada Department of Education.

Ms. Wiggins was surprised during the school’s morning faculty meeting where KellyLynn Charles, education programs professional in the office of Educator Development Licensure and Family Engagement with the Nevada Department of Education, made the announcement via Zoom.

Ms. Wiggins was among five other finalists for the award including Connie Hall of the Lloyd Diedrichsen Elementary School in the Washoe County School District, Michaela Marich of McGill Elementary School in the White Pine County School District, Laura Jeanne Penrod of Southwest Career and Technical Academy in the Clark County School District and Jaime Tadrzynski of Canyon Springs High School also in the Clark County School District. Ultimately, Connie Hall was named the 2023 Nevada Teacher of the Year.

The mission of the Nevada Teacher of the Year program is to celebrate excellence and strengthen the teaching force by honoring and recognizing exceptional teachers on a school, district, state and national level. The Nevada Teacher of the Year is chosen from nominated individuals who are then invited to apply. After a rigorous application and interview process, the five finalists were sent to Jhone Ebert, superintendent of public instruction, to make the final selection.

Out of the 17 school districts in the state of Nevada, the Carson City School District has had teachers represented as a top five finalist for the last five years running, including the following.

  • 2023 – Adrienne Wiggins
  • 2022 – Rachel Croft
  • 2021 – Christina Bourne
  • 2020 – Nick Jacques
  • 2019 – Joanna Kaiser

Additionally, the Carson City School District has had four teachers win the prestigious Nevada Teacher of the Year award. Those include the following.

  • 2013 – Adam Whatley
  • 2012 – Deanna LeBlanc
  • 2011 – Cheryl Macy
  • 2008 – LeAnn Morris

The program is facilitated nationally by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). Along with its sponsors, CCSSO brings together State Teachers of the Year from all 50 states, U.S. territories, Washington, DC, and the Department of Defense Education Activity. 

ABOUT The Nevada Department of Education
The Nevada Department of Education (NDE) leads and collaborates with Nevada’s 17 school districts and the State Public Charter School Authority to advance educational equity Statewide. With offices in Carson City and Las Vegas, NDE oversees all pre-K-12 education in the State, working to achieve its mission to improve student achievement and educator effectiveness by ensuring opportunities, facilitating learning and promoting excellence. Under the leadership of the State Board of Education and the Superintendent of Public Instruction, NDE impacts the achievement of nearly half a million children and 30,000 educators. Learn more at

ABOUT Carson City School District
Located in Nevada’s capital, Carson City School District offers public education to approximately 7,600 students throughout Carson City. The district includes 6 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, 1 alternative high school and 1 comprehensive high school. Carson City School District boasts many successes including impressive graduation rates, strict safety measures, programs for gifted students and advanced-placement classes, among several others. In a joint venture with Western Nevada College, the Carson City School District Jump Start College program allows students to complete their senior year of high school and freshman year of college simultaneously. For more information, visit