Speech Pathologists

School Speech-Language Pathologists Honored in National Observance
Posted on 05/15/2023
This is the image for the news article titled School Speech-Language Pathologists Honored in National Observance

The Carson City School District is pleased to honor school Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs) during National Speech-Language Pathologist Day, Thursday, May 18, 2023, and celebrate the vital role of SLPs in education.

According to the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), approximately 20% of children in the United States have communication disorders. These disorders can impact a child's ability to learn, socialize and engage in daily activities.

SLPs are trained professionals who specialize in identifying, diagnosing and treating communication and swallowing disorders. In schools, SLPs play a vital role in ensuring that students with speech and language challenges receive the support they need to succeed in the classroom and beyond.

"SLPs are an essential part of the education team," said Christine Lenox, Ed.D., director of Student Support Services for the Carson City School District. "In addition to providing direct therapy to students, SLPs collaborate with teachers and other school staff to support language and literacy development, facilitate social communication and promote positive communication skills among students."

Carson City School District currently has 13 SLPs who serve among the district’s 10 schools. This national observance serves as a reminder of the important role that SLPs play in the lives of students and their families. They are listed below alphabetically by last name.

  • Miche Baumbach, Mark Twain Elementary School
  • Sarah Billings, Bordewich Bray Elementary School
  • Sara Bogotch, Fritsch Elementary School
  • Kristina Britt, NSETAP and Fremont Elementary School
  • Cynthia Carrillo, Empire Elementary School
  • Marvelee Clayworth, department chair, Carson Middle School
  • Carol Hellwinkel, Carson High School
  • Pennie Iannacchione, Eagle Valley Middle School and Mark Twain Elementary School
  • Jayne Lundberg, Bordewich Bray Elementary School (not pictured)
  • Taylor Mandelli, Seeliger Elementary School
  • Jennifer Poirier, Fremont Elementary School
  • Kathy Unruh, Fremont and Seeliger Elementary Schools
  • Alicia Walsh, ECH and Bordewich Bray Elementary School

Pictured in top photo, left to right: Miche Baumbach, Jennifer Poirier, Sara Bogotch, Taylor Mandelli, Kathy Unruh and Marvelee Clayworth (dept chair).

Pictured in bottom photo, left to right: Pennie Iannacchione, Carol Hellwinkel, Cynthia Carrillo, Kristina Britt, Sarah Billings and Alicia Walsh.